All I Want for Christmas is a Book Shop

29 Nov

Ok, it’s official now.  The press release is out, I’m contacting family, friends, and associates, and I’m putting the final touches on my indiegogo page.  The fundraising campaign launches in two days and I will be on my way to making my dream of adopting the Learned Owl Book Shop come true.  Luckily, I have picked just the right time of year to embark on this great adventure.  Who better to ask for help than everyone’s favorite jolly old elf.  You guessed it, the big guy himself, Santa Clause.  Last weekend I had the privilege of talking with him when he came to the store to promote his book, Being Santa Clause.  When I discussed it with him he patiently explained that not everyone can always get everything they ask for.  If he just gave me the book shop with a bow on top, there may be other people who don’t get something that they really want.  In other words, we have to spread the love.  I’m hoping that this blog will help me do exactly that.

Undertaking a business venture such as this is life changing and involves not just me and my family but an entire community.  A community that I have come to know and love as my own over the last two years.  By starting this blog it is my hope that I will be able to share my next big adventure with everyone that wants to be a part of it.  So here we go.  Cross your fingers and toes and take the next step with me.  I promise it will be worth it!

3 Responses to “All I Want for Christmas is a Book Shop”

  1. Bus Hill November 29, 2012 at 11:55 am #

    Kate, where can I find this on Indiegog’s web site?

    Bus Hill
    ronhill3pdx@gmail.com

    • kschlad November 29, 2012 at 5:41 pm #

      Hi Bus,
      It is still in draft mode until it launches on Saturday. I will post the link in various places when it is up and running. Thank you for the interest! Hope all is going well with your kickstarter campaign:)

  2. Carrie Rubin December 1, 2012 at 11:21 am #

    Kate, so glad I stumbled upon this via Emelie’s blog. I’ll head over to donate now. I wish you the best of luck!

Leave a Reply

